Our Life As Runners

Running thru the mud

Ive not been good about writing the last couple of weeks and when I looked back at my last post I was disappointed at the the lack of substance in it.  The truth is, life continues to throw curve balls at me and I’m unsure on how to process it all and share it with you.  As readers, I am sure you don’t want to hear about most of it and would rather be inspired by my next adventure.  So, I’m in the search for my own inspiration in order to get myself focused again.  The truth is, Ive just been getting my training runs done and that’s all I can say about them.  I am fortunate enough at this point that I have the drive to lace up every single day, despite the desperate need to go to bed when the girls are down for the night. 

I try to find the inspiration through music, through quotes and through amazing Ultra runners who have conquered way more.  The reality is that no matter how much I engulf myself in stories and lyrics, the choice is mine on whether I allow the negativity around me to win.  So every single day I lace up, its one more sweet victory for me.  You didn’t win this time or last time or tomorrow…I WON!  It doesn’t matter if the run wasn’t life changing and I need to get over the fact that not every run is going to give me that.  I’m getting out there when I feel the most defeated and that alone is a victory in itself. 

Leave a comment